IDEAS FOR THE GARDEN

Ideas for the Garden

 

Is time for the garden again, like every spring, and I was looking for some easy projects to do. Usually I go to the local garden and buy flowers for the season, spring and summer, to bring some color to my backyard. Within the flowers that I buy, I like to add some perennials every year, so this way the amount of flowers that come back are more and more every time.

I like gardens that are easy maintenance, and less elaborate. A simple design, but attractive and if I can say, with the organic tendency. There are many good ideas out there and I invite you to explore some of them;

1.-Doing something with old flower pots

Something easy to do, go throughout the garden, and look for old flower pots, the idea is to have at least four or five, preferably if they have different high. Then clean them, and apply a fresh coat of paint with exterior finish, weather proof, it could be spray or brush on, whichever is easy for you. Pick a color that will bring some accent to your patio, backyard or deck area. Once you group them, make sure that the flowers are some good combination of textures, tones and varieties.

2014-04-14 1

2.- Left over from a construction site?

Sometimes we end up with some items in the backyard a little difficult to dispose and they stay there forever hoping that someday you will be able to do something with them. I found this great idea while browsing on the web, where you can make great use of old “concrete building blocks”. See in the picture how the use the blocks to plant flowers, I think you can try different types, and looking at them, I can say that you could easily paint them, if you want, just make sure that you use exterior for concrete, which will protect the concrete keeping a nice look.

2014-04-14 2

3.- Packaging Pallets

Well, this is a new approach to be ecological and green. Packaging Pallets are easily found on the streets sometimes and there many great ideas on how to use them on crafts, décor and garden. The picture that I am showing you below shows how it can be use for planting strawberries, and other small plants, but also you can use for planting herbs, which usually need just a small space. One of the way to make the inside containers for the soil could be making a pouch from “contractor garbage bags”, use stapler to attach the pouch to the wood, and don’t forget to make some little holes on the pouches once you fill them with rich soil to plant your herbs or flowers.

2014-04-14 3

4.- Is a Deck too much for me?

Sometimes, the idea to make a patio-deck becomes just too big of a deal. Just to think of building’s plan, contractor’s fees, building’s permits, etc, would demolish the idea immediately. I came across this problem, several years ago, but I was determined to have a patio-deck space. Because I didn’t have the money for all the rest, and just wanted a small area of 12’ by 12’, I came out with the idea to build a frame low to the ground, and place the decking material on the top. It was completely removable, in the case that I needed to do so, but it served the purpose, after all, I had my small patio set and my grill on a decking surface. The picture below reminds me of that, and I wanted to share with you this idea.

2014-04-14 4

5.-Just with a little money!

This last idea is based on buying some of the material pre-made, like the wood board and wood boxes. Attach the boxes to the board, and either varnishing or paint them. It is simple, fast and great looking. The picture below shows wood boxes available at Ikea, but you can decide to make you own boxes with some inexpensive wood, just make sure that the varnish or paint that you are going to use, is weatherproof, so your work will last.

2014-04-14 5

Published by MP INTERIORS

I'm an artist by nature, and I love all kind of expressions. Dedicated to work in the Construction field for what I have a career in Interior Design, Interior Decor, and 3D renderings for spaces. I also write and enjoy amateur photography.

Leave a comment

Paz Lopez Escritora y Autor

Compartiendo mis sueños y emociones...

Sacred Soul Mysteries - Mystical Prayers - Kenosis is Love

🐛 For Caterpillars Seeking The Butterfly Within 🦋

Oriana's Notes

Fashion Moments & Inspiring Adventures

Reservoirint

Interior Design

Pinoy Talks

Lifestyle | Ideas | and Everything in between

Humorous Interludes by Ron Yarosh

Finding The Humor In Life|A Place for Laughs|Poetry|Humorous Stories...

PHOTOMANIA

EYE CANDY

Cosentino's Florist

141 Dunning Ave, Auburn, NY 13021 (315) 253-4451

gardener365

A daily garden snippet

RED GLADIOLA

Fiction & Poetry Journal of T. Wong

Colourful Threads of Life

A journey about faith and discovering extraordinary things in an ordinary world.

Blog for design and architecture

blog, design, architecture

Whaddya Mean Rosebuds?

Sometimes a Bouquet

Pearls of Perception

There is so much more yet to be discovered, whether its a simple passage from a book, a quote, a poem a simple thought, photograph or landscape from a master.

OutdoorMash

Exploring Your World

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Awesome Pillows Around The Web

On a mission searching for the coolest decorative pillows around the net

MI Design & Interior

where design drives you crazy